Bryant’s First Birthday Party!

Birthday Boy and his mama!

This past weekend my family and I celebrated my youngest nephew Bryant’s first birthday! We had an intimate gathering of family and it was probably a good thing considering how excited the birthday boy was to turn one. I think he may have sensed this was the beginning of getting older. There are some things going on with his brother right now, and the only way  I knew I could help out was to make some decorations and cakes / cupcakes. It took maaaybe an hour to assemble the decor and the cakes were even easier. Side note – if anyone wants a birthday kit in any theme, I can make you one for $30 (cakes not included as that really isn’t my specialty).

Let’s start with the cakes because really, that’s the best part.

{CAKE} – Bryant is majorly allergic to many things (eggs, peanuts, chicken, hugging, staying still, etc.) For his cake I used this recipe with the same frosting I used for the cupcakes (see below).  I just added some food coloring for his. Honestly, his cake was about 100 times better in my opinion than the cupcakes. It came out super moist and flavorful. I read online to wrap it and freeze it while it’s still warm from the oven. Worked great! Guess who didn’t agree?

DSC_0406

Bryant doesn't love frosting

Bryant doesn’t love frosting

{CUPCAKES} – For the guests we were able to have eggs in the cupcakes so I went with a homemade funfetti. In hindsight I should have gotten the boxed kind or chosen a different recipe. Live and learn!  They came out super dry and a bit too fluffy. I’m not sure what happened, but here is the recipe anyways.  The frosting that this recipe made was good but WAAAY SWEET.

DSC_0405

{DECOR} – For the decor I cheated and used some of the artwork I made for Jordan’s shower a year ago. It worked and I already had it ready to edit, so win-win. I made a personalized banner for the birthday boy, some cupcake flags, and tee-tiny bunting for the cake.  I printed and then cut out the flags, glued them onto some flat toothpicks and we were in business. Also on hand were some popcorn containers that we used for cheese puffs since a lot of popcorn is made with peanut oil and we can’t risk that.

Jack

Older brother Jack

tee-tiny bunting

Decor

Birthday Boy and his daddy!

Birthday Boy and his daddy!

Bryant and Granddaddy

Guess who gets a smile? Granddaddy!

Sister Squeeze

Sister Squeeze on Bryant! (pregnant people need to stay hydrated!)

At the end of the day Bryant decided that he would in fact eat something but only inside where he could make a mess and only when no one was looking. I caught this photo as evidence.

bryant_cupcake

Leave a Reply

